Laying of the foundation stone for the new two-storey building of Mahiyanganaya Divisional Secretariat in the administrative district of Badulla constructed under the financial provisions of the Ministry of Home Affairs and the ceremonial opening of Soranathota and Badulla Divisional Secretary quarters and the quarters complex of Badulla Divisional Secretariat was also done under the patronage of the Hon. Wajira Abeywardane, Minister of Home Affairs on 14th May, 2018.

The amount expected to be spent on the new two-storey building ofMahiyanganaya Divisional Secretariat is Rs. 1,530 lakhs.

Concurrently with the above, the officers’ meeting of Mahiyanganaya, Ridimaliyadda and Kandaketiya Divisional Secretariats and the giving away of office bags for field officers were also arranged on the same day and the ceremonial opening of Meegahakiula and HingurugamauwaNilaSewana offices was also done by the Hon. Minister of Home Affairs.

The amount of money allocated by the government for each of the above NilaSewana offices amounted to Rs. 20 lakhs. Badulla district Hon. Ministers and Members of Parliamentary and Provincial Council and the government officials participated on this occasion.

New three-storey building of Doluwa Divisional Secretariat in Kandy district was declared open by Hon.Wajira Abeywardane, Minister of Home Affairs and the Hon. D.M. Jayaratne, former Prime Minister was also amongst the gathering. This new three-storey building was constructed by the Ministry of Home Affairs at cost of Rs. 450 lakhs.
A large numbers of Ministers and Members, Secretary to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Mr. S.T. Kodikara, Attorney-at-Law and the government officials were also present on the occasion.


Doluwa02  Doluwa01

  Doluwa03  Doluwa04


Hikkaduwa 01Under the programof upgrading all district and divisional secretariatswith the intentions of making district and divisional administration more efficient and organized, four (04) buildings constructed by the Ministry of Home Affairs in Galle district were entrusted to the people by Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe, the Prime Minister, on 12th May, 2018.

Under the directions of Hon. Wajira Abeywaradane, Minister of Home Affairs, these four buildings have been constructed for Akmeemana, Habaraduwa, Hikkaduwa and Gonapinuwala divisional secretariats. Hikkaduwa Divisional Secretariat building is four-storey while the other three are three-storey buildings.

Hikkaduwa Divisional Secretariat building has been constructed at a cost of Rs. 683 lakhs and the construction activities of this building were initiated on 08th October, 2016 with the laying of foundation stone. Rs. 480 lakhs has been spent on the construction of building for Habaraduwa Divisional Secretariat and the laying of foundation stone for the said building had also been done on08th October, 2016. Construction of new three-storeybuilding for Akmeemana Divisional Secretariat had been initiated on 09th September, 2016 with the laying of foundation stone and Rs. 458 lakhs has been spent for that purpose. Meanwhile,Rs. 510 lakhs has been spent for the new three-storey building in Gonapinuwala Divisional Secretariat where the laying of foundation stone had been done only on 09th January, 2017. Following the laying of foundation stones, it has been able to complete the construction activities of these buildings within a short period of time.

The special feature is that each of the above buildings has been furnished with a fully-equipped auditorium and vehicle parking facilities. All the necessary equipment for the staff has also been provided by the Ministry of Home Affairs.


Ceremonial opening of Ratnapura Circuit Bungalow, renovated at a cost of Rs. 81 lakhs was carried out by Hon.Wajira Abeywardane, Minister of Home Affairs.

Rathnapura03  Rathnapura04 

 Rathnapura01  Rathnapura02

Nilamehewara-Vavuniya District, Conclusion Programme

FaLang translation system by Faboba